Thursday, April 5, 2018

Book Review: No One Ever Asked by Katie Ganshert

About the Book

Challenging perceptions of discrimination and prejudice, this emotionally resonant drama for readers of Lisa Wingate and Jodi Picoult explores three different women navigating challenges in a changing school district--and in their lives.

When an impoverished school district loses its accreditation and the affluent community of Crystal Ridge has no choice but to open their school doors, the lives of three very different women converge: Camille Gray--the wife of an executive, mother of three, long-standing PTA chairwoman and champion fundraiser--faced with a shocking discovery that threatens to tear her picture-perfect world apart at the seams. Jen Covington, the career nurse whose long, painful journey to motherhood finally resulted in adoption but she is struggling with a happily-ever-after so much harder than she anticipated. Twenty-two-year-old Anaya Jones--the first woman in her family to graduate college and a brand new teacher at Crystal Ridge's top elementary school, unprepared for the powder-keg situation she's stepped into. Tensions rise within and without, culminating in an unforeseen event that impacts them all. This story explores the implicit biases impacting American society, and asks the ultimate question: What does it mean to be human? Why are we so quick to put labels on each other and categorize people as "this" or "that," when such complexity exists in each person?

Purchase your copy here.

My Review

Everyone in America needs to read this book.  Not just because it was exceedingly well written, with short chapters that kept you turning the pages.  Not because of the Twitter conversations, emails, online chats, or news articles interspersed throughout the book, which brought in more perspective to the story.  Not because of the characters, so well written that you wanted to weep with them in their distress.  Not because of the surprises that you never expected in the plot.  Everyone needs to read this story because every person will find himself or herself in this story.   And it's not pretty.  This is a story about racism, which may or may not be reflected in how you act, and it may not be reflected in the words you speak.  But it may be in your thoughts and in your heart, even if you don't recognize it.  Read this book.  It is convicting.

I received an ARC of this book from the publisher, Waterbrook, for review purposes.  The thoughts expressed here are my own.

About the Author

Katie Ganshert was born and raised in the exciting state of Iowa, where she currently resides with her family. She likes to write things and consume large quantities of coffee and chocolate while she writes all the things. She's won some awards. For the writing, not the consuming. Although the latter would be fun. You can learn more about Katie and these things she writes at her website www.katieganshert.com.

No comments:

Post a Comment