Thursday, April 26, 2018

Book review: Oath of Honor by Lynette Eason

About the Book:

Police officer Isabelle St. John loves her crazy, loud, law-enforcement family. With three brothers and two sisters, she's never without someone to hang out with--or fight with. And she knows they'll be there for her when things get tough. Like when her partner is murdered and she barely escapes with her own life.

Determined to discover exactly what happened, Izzy's investigation sends her headfirst into a criminal organization, possibly with cops on the payroll--including someone from her own family. With her dead partner's handsome homicide detective brother Ryan shadowing her every move, Izzy's head is spinning. How can she secure justice for her partner when doing so could mean sending someone she loves to prison? And how will she guard her heart when the man she's had a secret crush on for years won't leave her side?

With her signature fast-paced, edge-of-your-seat action, Lynette Eason invites readers into a captivating new series where justice is a family affair.

My Review:

If you're looking for can't-put-it-down suspense, this is the book for you!

Lynette Eason has again written a gripping page-turner!  The plot is multi-layered and the characters are well-drawn.  Blue Justice is a new series about law enforcement officers, and they use modern technology as well as quick wits and solid thinking to get the job done.  This book would translate well to the screen.

Oath of Honor would appeal to men and women who enjoy police dramas or suspense.  I highly recommend it.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher, Revell, for review purposes.  The thoughts expressed here are my own.

About the Author:

Award-winning, best-selling author, Lynette Eason writes for Harlequin's Love Inspired Suspense line and for Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group. Her books have hit the CBA and ECPA bestseller lists and have won numerous awards such as the prestigious Carol Award, the Selah, the Daphne, the IRCC award and more. Lynette is married, has two children, and lives in Greenville, SC.


Thursday, April 12, 2018

Book review: A Most Noble Heir by Susan Anne Mason

About the Book:

When stable hand Nolan Price learns from his dying mother that he is actually the son of the Earl of Stainsby, his plans for a future with kitchen maid Hannah Burnham are shattered. Once he is officially acknowledged as the earl's heir, Nolan will be forbidden to marry beneath his station.

Unwilling to give up the girl he loves, he devises a plan to elope--believing that once their marriage is sanctioned by God, Lord Stainsby will be forced to accept their union. However, as Nolan struggles to learn the ways of the aristocracy, he finds himself caught between pleasing Hannah and living up to his father's demanding expectations.

At every turn, forces work to keep the couple apart, and a solution to remain together seems further and further away. With Nolan's new life pulling him irrevocably away from the woman he loves, it seems only a miracle will bring them back together.

You can get your copy here.

My Review:

After having read and enjoyed Mason's previous series of books, it was refreshing to read a stand-alone with a different setting.  This book is set in 1880s England, where there are definite boundaries between the classes.  I found the unique premise of this book, that a stable hand was truly the earl's son, to be intriguing.  The characters were very real-lovable, yet flawed.  Most were willing to be changed and grown by their circumstances, which made them even more endearing.  The plot kept moving, and just when I thought everything was about to be wrapped up, there was more action.  

Two takeaways that I had from this book-
1.  Everyone should have an Aunt Iris.  Read this book so you can meet her!

2.  Susan Anne Mason is the Queen of the Double Romance!

I enjoyed this book and recommend it to fans of historical fiction.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher, Bethany House, for review purposes.  The thoughts expressed here are my own.

About the Author:

Susan lives in a suburb near Toronto, Ontario, Canada, where she works part-time as a church secretary. She is a wife and the mother of two amazing kids, and is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW) and Romance Writers of America (RWA). In addition to writing, she likes to scrapbook and to research her family history on-line. You can connect with her on Facebook or on her website www.susanannemason.net.

Thursday, April 5, 2018

Book Review: No One Ever Asked by Katie Ganshert

About the Book

Challenging perceptions of discrimination and prejudice, this emotionally resonant drama for readers of Lisa Wingate and Jodi Picoult explores three different women navigating challenges in a changing school district--and in their lives.

When an impoverished school district loses its accreditation and the affluent community of Crystal Ridge has no choice but to open their school doors, the lives of three very different women converge: Camille Gray--the wife of an executive, mother of three, long-standing PTA chairwoman and champion fundraiser--faced with a shocking discovery that threatens to tear her picture-perfect world apart at the seams. Jen Covington, the career nurse whose long, painful journey to motherhood finally resulted in adoption but she is struggling with a happily-ever-after so much harder than she anticipated. Twenty-two-year-old Anaya Jones--the first woman in her family to graduate college and a brand new teacher at Crystal Ridge's top elementary school, unprepared for the powder-keg situation she's stepped into. Tensions rise within and without, culminating in an unforeseen event that impacts them all. This story explores the implicit biases impacting American society, and asks the ultimate question: What does it mean to be human? Why are we so quick to put labels on each other and categorize people as "this" or "that," when such complexity exists in each person?

Purchase your copy here.

My Review

Everyone in America needs to read this book.  Not just because it was exceedingly well written, with short chapters that kept you turning the pages.  Not because of the Twitter conversations, emails, online chats, or news articles interspersed throughout the book, which brought in more perspective to the story.  Not because of the characters, so well written that you wanted to weep with them in their distress.  Not because of the surprises that you never expected in the plot.  Everyone needs to read this story because every person will find himself or herself in this story.   And it's not pretty.  This is a story about racism, which may or may not be reflected in how you act, and it may not be reflected in the words you speak.  But it may be in your thoughts and in your heart, even if you don't recognize it.  Read this book.  It is convicting.

I received an ARC of this book from the publisher, Waterbrook, for review purposes.  The thoughts expressed here are my own.

About the Author

Katie Ganshert was born and raised in the exciting state of Iowa, where she currently resides with her family. She likes to write things and consume large quantities of coffee and chocolate while she writes all the things. She's won some awards. For the writing, not the consuming. Although the latter would be fun. You can learn more about Katie and these things she writes at her website www.katieganshert.com.